Get your first unruly read for just £9.95 (£13.00) when you select monthly rolling. Use code WELCOME.

Un Amor

by Sara Mesa

Translated from Spanish by Katie Whittemore.

Published June, 2024

Paperback, 184 pages

Price: £12.99

In Stock

Add to basket
Want free delivery?

Join Good Book Club and enjoy exclusive member perks – like unlimited free delivery across our site. Plus:

  1. A brilliant newly-released book from an indie publisher delivered every month
  2. Free access to author events online and in-person
  3. Monthly extras you actually want – like signed copies and notes from authors

Join now for free delivery

Quick take

A claustrophobic story of desire and small town unease in the vein of Dogville or Coetzee’s Disgrace.

Synopsis
Why we love it

Sarah Mesa’s writing – and Katie Whittemore’s translation – is minimalist but precise. The prose paints a vivid picture of a small Spanish village, its tensions, and its inner darkness. In one sentence she can bring a character into being, leaving us wanting to dig deeper below the surface.

Nat, a translator, finds herself in the small Spanish village of La Escapa. She rents a crumbling house from a landlord who scares her. Her neigbours strike her as judgemental and closed-minded. She gets a dog, who causes her nothing but...

Show more

Nat, a translator, finds herself in the small Spanish village of La Escapa. She rents a crumbling house from a landlord who scares her. Her neigbours strike her as judgemental and closed-minded. She gets a dog, who causes her nothing but trouble despite her best efforts to tame him. She makes a friend, an ally, but even that relationship is tense. 

Things start to shift when the roof of her house starts to leak. Hesitant to involve the landlord, she finds herself in an unusual position when one of the town’s residents offer to fix it. But is she willing to pay the price?

Show less

  • Published in the UK for the first time by Peirene Press, Sara Mesa is the author of eight works of fiction, including Scar (winner of the Ojo Critico Prize), Four by Four (a finalist for the Herralde Prize), An Invisible Fire (winner of the Premio Málaga de Novela), Among the Hedges, and La Familia. Her works have been translated into eighteen different languages, and she has been widely praised for her concise, sharp writing style.

  • Founded in 2008, we’ve been a key player in the thriving UK independent publishing scene for over a decade, publishing books from 25 countries and 20 different languages. Traditionally a publisher of European novellas in translation, we...

    See all books by Peirene Press

Books written or translated by Katie Whittemore